MN Rural Counties Board of Directors – APPROVED Meeting Minutes Monday, April 1, 2024 10 am ZOOM

Attendance

County	First Name	Last Name
Aitkin County	Laurie	Westerlund
Beltrami County	Joe	Gould
Big Stone County	Wade	Athey
Brown County	Anton	Berg
Clay County	Frank	Gross
Clay County	Jenny	Mongeau
Cottonwood County	Larry	Anderson
Douglas County	Jerry	Rapp
Douglas County	Keith	Englund
Douglas County	Tim	Kalina
Douglas County	Charlie	Meyer
Douglas County	Shane	Schmidt
Grant County	Dwight	Walvatne
Hubbard County	Charlene	Christenson
Jackson County	Don	Wachal
Kittson County	Theresia	Gillie
Koochiching County	Adam	McIntyre
Lincoln County	Dean	Nielsen
Lyon County	Thomas	Andries
Marshall County	Sharon	Bring
Martin County	Jaime	Bleess
McLeod County	Doug	Krueger
McLeod County	Daryl	Luthens
McLeod County	Nathan	Schmalz
Meeker County	Steve	Schmitt
Meeker County	Paul	Johnson
Mower County	John	Mueller
Norman County	Steve	Bommersbach
Olmsted County	Brian	Mueller
Pennington County	Bruce	Lawrence
Pipestone County	Luke	Johnson
Pope County	Paul	Gerde
Pope County	Larry	Lindor
Red Lake County	Chuck	Flage

Red Lake County	Anthony	Gerardy
Redwood County	Bob	Van Hee
Renville County	John	Robinson
Roseau County	Kermit	Jensen
Roseau County	Glenda	Phillipe
Saint Louis County	Paul	McDonald
Stearns County	Steve	Notch
Stearns County	Jeff	Bertram
Stearns County	Tarryl	Clark
Stearns County	Joe	Perske
Stevens County	Bob	Kopitzke
Stevens County	Patricia	Lesmeister-Nelson
Traverse County	Kayla	Schmidt
Wadena County	Bill	Stearns
Wadena County	Murlyn	Kreklau
Waseca County	Brad	Krause
Waseca County	DeAnne	Malterer
Watonwan County	Jim	Branstad
Wilkin County	Dennis	Larson
Wright County	Mike	Kaczmarek
Wright County	Tina	Diedrick

Staff: Anne Kilzer, Rob Vanasek, Sam Walseth

Guests: Adam Coe, Kersten Kappmeyer, Andrew Litson

1. Call to Order

Chair Luke Johnson called the meeting to order at 10:00 am.

2. Roll Call

Chairman Johnson took the roll, and a quorum was confirmed.

3. Approve Agenda

Commissioner Christenson moved approval of the agenda. Second by Commissioner Gerde. Motion adopted.

4. Approve Minutes

Commissioner Kopitzke moved approval of the March 4, 2024 meeting minutes. Second by Commissioner Larson. Motion adopted.

5. Treasurer's Report and Financial Statement

Secretary/Treasurer Bring provided a report on the current MRC financials. Commissioner Flage made a motion to file the Treasurer's Report and Financial Statement. Second by Commissioner Gross. Motion adopted.

Anne Kilzer gave an update on Britta Torkelson's return to work status. It was agreed that MRC funds would be used for a gift to the Torkelson/Wilson family.

6. Follow up to March Meeting: Open Meeting Law Requirements.

Anne Kilzer walked through a document outlining state statute regarding meeting requirements for nonprofit organizations. MRC is following both statute and best practices currently. Anne will send out the document as a follow up to the meeting. No further discussion.

7. Legislative Update: Budget Targets, Timelines and Issue Tracking.

Rob Vanasek and Sam Walseth provided updates on the current legislative landscape. Sam walked through issues of interest including the wetland replacement bill, transportation, Tyler Settlement/Tax Forfeiture, social services and emergency medical services and CARMA. In regard to the MRC priorities, Sam also discussed SCORE and drainage. Rob Vanasek gave further updates on waste issues. Powerpoint outlining the information included in the report will be sent to all MRC members after the meeting.

Discussion ensued, including Elk/herd issues and sanctuary state status.

8. Other.

No additional comments or discussion.

9. Announcements.

The next MRC meeting will be held on May 6 via Zoom; 10:00 am. Legislators will be back in session and staff will recruit speakers for the meeting.

10. Adjourn.

The meeting adjourned at 11:46 am.